If it's about general copywriting this is a good place for it 

How do I submit work to a client?

If it's about copywriting, and it doesn't fit anywhere else, this is probably a good place for it
centerofflowcopy

How do I submit work to a client?

Post by centerofflowcopy »

Hello, I am fairly new to copy writing and I am just confused about how I am supposed to submit my work to a client. For example, if I am doing a sales page for a clients website, do I need access to their website or do I just give them the writing in a file, and they input it onto their page themselves? thank you so much, I look forward to hearing back!
SARubin
Copywriter
Tagline: Spinning Words Into Gold

Re: How do I submit work to a client?

Post by SARubin »

centerofflowcopy wrote: March 31st, 2020, 1:27 pm Hello, I am fairly new to copy writing and I am just confused about how I am supposed to submit my work to a client. For example, if I am doing a sales page for a clients website, do I need access to their website or do I just give them the writing in a file, and they input it onto their page themselves? thank you so much, I look forward to hearing back!
Hello, centerofflowcopy, and welcome to the forum.

There really isn’t a one size fits all answer to your question.

It depends on your skill-set, and the personal relationship you have with your client.

I’ve worked with clients in the past who only wanted me to write the copy, and maybe do some basic formatting (i.e. bold subheads, italics, etc. just to show where the emphasized words should be within the copy). Then I deliver it to them in a file.

I’ve also had a few cases where I worked directly with a designer who did the graphics, while I did the copy.